ASE Master Certified Technician

• Administrators
  • 16,623 posts
  • 14627 reward credits
  • Sterling
  • Virginia
Garage View Garage

Posted May 21, 2013 - 01:32 AM

I though we'd start an introduction thread so we can get to know each other a little better. With only 30 some-odd members so far we are a very tight-knit group and I think we are doing very well.

My name is Peter and I have been a professional technician with Mercedes Benz since 2005. I graduated from UTI and was accepted to Mercedes' Elite training program. I worked hard to rid myself of the 'new guy' image and specialized in heavy diagnosis cars with repetitive and/or intermittent issues. I became Master Certified in 2008 and recertify at that level every year.

In 2010 the lease on my Audi was coming to an end and I had the choice of buying it or getting a new car. I had not looked at Mustangs other than resoring my '67 project car. I heard the new 5,0 Coyote was hitting the streets so one Saturday I went to the local Ford dealership for a test drive. That Monday I special ordered an '11 5.0. :Big Grin:

My first trip to the strip was March 2011 for the very first 5.0 Shootout at MIR. 25 cars showed up and it seemed like I had the track to myself. I managed my personal best of 12.19 @ 116mph my very first time ever racing a car. I made it to the second round of eliminations before spinning hard and was sent packing. Later that year I somehow managed to convince my girlfriend to drive from our home in Virginia halfway accross the country to run the Texas Mile. :shock:

The trip itself was awesome and I was sure to help her enjoy it. We stopped at resturants visited by her favorite show Diners Drive-ins and Dives and I even let her behind the wheel for some 100+mph blasts in the middle of nowhere. :clapping:  The 'Mile was epic, the biggest car show I've ever seen with the most hardcore hardware(2000+hp Vipers and Ford GT's) on the planet.